The First to Lie (Hardcover)

The First to Lie Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now


Bestselling and award-winning author and investigative reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan delivers another twisty, thrilling cat and mouse novel of suspense that will have you guessing, and second-guessing, and then gasping with surprise.

We all have our reasons for being who we are—but what if being someone else could get you what you want?

After a devastating betrayal, a young woman sets off on an obsessive path to justice, no matter what dark family secrets are revealed. What she doesn’t know—she isn’t the only one plotting her revenge.

An affluent daughter of privilege. A glamorous manipulative wannabe. A determined reporter, in too deep. A grieving widow who must choose her new reality. Who will be the first to lie? And when the stakes are life and death, do a few lies really matter?

About the Author

HANK PHILLIPPI RYAN has won five Agatha Awards, in addition to the Anthony, Macavity, Daphne du Maurier, and Mary Higgins Clark Award for her bestselling mystery novels. As an investigative reporter, her work has resulted in new laws, criminals sent to prison, homes saved from foreclosure, and millions of dollars in restitution for victims and consumers. Along with her 34 Emmys and 14 Edward R. Murrow awards, Hank has received dozens of other honors for her ground-breaking journalism. A former president of Sisters in Crime and founder of MWA University, she lives in Boston with her husband, a nationally renowned civil rights and criminal defense attorney. She is the author of Trust Me, and the Jane Ryland series (The Other Woman, The Wrong Girl, Truth be Told, Say No More and What You See).

Praise For…

Praise for The Murder List:

“A fireworks display of a novel: exciting, explosive, relentless—and likely to leave you gasping.” —A J Finn

“An exhilarating thrill ride that keeps you turning pages.”—Liv Constantine

“Utterly absorbing! Ryan is a master working at the top of her game.”— Riley Sager

“Twisty, complex, dishy suspense…unfailingly entertaining.”— William Landay

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250258809
ISBN-10: 1250258804
Publisher: Forge Books
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Pages: 336